Picture Heavy Porktastic Pork Belly

Sometimes I like to internally debate which I love more: chicken, pork, beef and while chicken is entirely versatile and I love rare steak and prime rib, pork is my favorite meat of all. Maybe because pigs are smart and pork has a monopoly on the majority of a lot of things I enjoy eating such as pork belly. In the most recent Trader Joe’s Fearless Flyer (I love the FF!!), it mentioned pre-cooked pork belly so I sought out to find a box. I already had some dino kale in my fridge that was nearing its due date so I sliced up the pork belly, seared it on both sides and used the rendered fat in the skillet to wilt the kale (de-stemmed and torn into pieces) and toss it with lemon juice, salt and pepper then served the pork belly on top: IMG_6206

IMG_6207

IMG_6208

IMG_6209

IMG_6210Ta da!

I also made Red Cooked Pork (Hong Shao Rou) with a package of pork belly from the Asian market. I haven’t made it in about 2 years and it’s pretty easy even though it takes a while.

IMG_6214Browning about 2 inches of ginger, sliced in some cooking oil

IMG_6215Browning each side of a package (1-2lbs, I think it was) of pork belly that I cut into cubes. I added it to the skillet with the ginger underneath.

IMG_6216Nice and browning (I used med-high heat)

IMG_6217one bunch of green onions, sliced into thirds, to be added later

IMG_6218The usual suspects: shaoshing cooking wine and dark mushroom soy sauce

IMG_6219after the pork is browned, add about 1-1.5/2 cups of shaoshing wine into the skillet. I don’t measure but I did add a lot so that it would boil and bubble.

IMG_6220Drizzle the dark soy sauce over the pork. It was roughly 3-ish tablespoons if I actually measured it out. Mix the liquid with the pork so that it’s evenly coated.

IMG_6221Top with all the green onions, turn the heat to med-low/low, cover and simmer for at least 2 hours.

IMG_6229It should look like this after 2 hours. (Confession: I let it go longer than 2 hours because I got into an argument and so by the time I took this picture, it was more like 3 hours later)

IMG_6230Sweeten the sauce with 2-3 tablespoons of sugar. The recipe I learned this dish from used rock sugar which I don’t have anymore so I used coconut sugar since I never use the stuff.

IMG_6238Let it simmer for a few minutes to allow the sugar to dissolve and once it’s finished, increase the heat a little bit to let the sauce reduce and thicken. At this point, I gather all the green onions and pile them in the center and discard once the sauce has thickened. I don’t eat the onions because they’re mushy from having been braised for a few hours.

IMG_6239For my veggie side dish, I sautéed some bok choy with garlic, ginger and a splash of soy sauce.

IMG_6240I ate it with brown rice. Doesn’t that look lovely????

Tagged ,

3 thoughts on “Picture Heavy Porktastic Pork Belly

  1. omar escalante says:

    You should be a chef darling..,

    Sent from my Aypon

  2. cheryl says:

    looks delicious

  3. Mops says:

    👍👍looks good.👏👏😘

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 187 other followers

