Coconut Flour Cookin’

Hello Everyone! I sort of just fell through the cracks and just didn’t feel like posting (that and working out but that’ll be another post) and when I saw that it’s been nearly a month since I last updated, I feel like it’s time to dust off my blog and get crackin’ cookin’.

Last year I got a can of Coconut Secrets coconut flour because there were a few recipes that I wanted to try when I was on my super fitness-health kick and since then I’ve just wondered what else I could do with it. Fast forward to last week at Costco, I saw a big bag of Nutiva coconut for about the same price as the super small can of the Coconut Secrets brand so I had to get it out of principle and plus they might not carry it again once it’s out. I knew I had to start using the flour once and for all so I found a few recipes on the internet this week and cranked out a few items:

Coconut Flour Pancakes from Nourishing Days:
IMG_7849

IMG_7850

These pancakes were really fluffy! The stack you see on the plate are all misshapen because I flipped them too early. I didn’t realize that I had to wait at least 5 minutes before flipping them (see above photo with the griddle). I used medium-low heat on my cast iron griddle pan greased with coconut oil, of course! They’re good plain but I put some jam on mine.

Coconut flour banana bread from Comfy Belly:IMG_7888

IMG_7891I used really old bananas in these and probably could’ve omitted the honey since I’m sure the bananas made it sweet enough. If you see the 2nd photo (the slice of bread), you can see that it’s wet toward the bottom. That’s how the bread came out once it was cooled down. Coconut flour has a sort of grainy texture and spongy texture when cooked and this banana bread was sort of spongy…like tres leches cake. It still held up pretty well for something so fragile. Tastewise, you can’t tell it’s coconut flour.

**Notice my nails are SHORT???? Yep, I cut them last week. I usually do it once a year as a “breather” and it’s never a happy time. I consider it a necessary evil. **

Coconut flour chocolate chip cookies from The Detoxinista:IMG_7889

IMG_7890

These are actually the 2nd batch of coconut flour chocolate chip cookies because I made some earlier this week and they were pretty much gone by the time I made the ones pictured above (made these last night). Truth be told, I did use another recipe for the first batch (link here) and while those were really good, I wanted to find a recipe that used honey (since I have lots of it) instead of sugar. Speaking of sugar, the recipe for the first batch used 1/2 cup of sugar (which didn’t fully dissolve in the batter) and I found that the cookies could’ve used less after eating them. The second batch (the Detoxinista’s recipe) tasted similar and didn’t have obvious granulated sugar crystals in them thanks to the honey.

The cookies look crunchy but they’re not. They’re quite soft. Not chewy like a typical chocolate chip cookie but more like a dense cake/bread. Whatever, I dig them.

ALSO I used carob chips ONLY because that’s all I had! I love carob chips (admittedly to just eat by the palmful if I’m not putting it into my yogurt).

I still have tons of coconut flour left (I learned that when you use coconut flour, you only need a little to yield a large quantity) so I’m on a mission to find more recipes to try out.

Tagged ,

4 thoughts on “Coconut Flour Cookin’

  1. never tried using coconut flour before! looks yum

  2. Brandon Torrigino says:

    I should’ve brought some with me!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  3. Mops says:

    wow looks good. next time, make some for us 😋😋😋

  4. Mops says:

    can I place an order, please

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 187 other followers

