Blood Red lipstick swatches

If I’m not wearing classic red lipstick, I’m wearing darker, blood red shades. They’ve always been a favorite of mine and I’m always on the search for good dark red shades. They’re not vampy dark; they just have a brown or yellow base that looks more like blood than retro red lipstick.

I made a video showing a few shades of blood red that I like but unfortunately, I didn’t use natural light to film it so the colors might be a little skewed. I’ve taken natural daylight shots of them using my phone camera so you can get a better idea of what they really look like:

Honestly, the colors are slightly deeper in real life; I just don’t have working “real” camera at the moment to take more accurate pictures.

A few comments: Revlon’s Raisin Rage has a plummy undertone and the camera really picked up on that but in person it’s a reddish mahogany plum shade which looks more red than plum which is why I’ve included it in the lineup. NARS Fire Down below is my favorite of them all. It also happens to be the most expensive ($24, I think from Sephora) and I just love their description: “Pure blood red with no blue or orange.” It looks brown in the tube which may turn off some people but it’s really really RED. A gorgeous deep, blood red.

A good alternative to NARS is Portland Black Lipstick Co.’s “Blood Red” which is just as gorgeous but it leans more brown than red. It’s still a red shade, though. The best part is that it’s only $9.00 here.

Revlon’s Blackberry is a nice deep red shade. I’ve read that it’s been compared to MAC Dubonnet (I don’t own this). It’s not the deep berry shade from the 90s but it’s still a lovely, affordable deep red.

NYX Alabama (this was NOT shown in the video) is a little brighter than the rest of the line up but it’s a warm toned red that is like a “brighter” blood red if that makes any sense. I love the NYX Matte lipstick line, the colors are so pigmented and it applies like butter.

I would also recommend MAC Viva Glam I as a good deeper warm-toned red shade. I do have that but didn’t swatch it as it’s such a common color.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 179 other followers

